Housekeeping

First of all, I’ve posted a slightly modified version of my review of The Omnivore’s Dilemma at Amazon.com. If you’ve read my full review, it’ll be pretty boring, but if you want to vote on whether it’s helpful, I’d appreciate that.

I’ll have at least one more post related to The Omnivore’s Dilemma, probably within the next week or so. However, you can expect the posting around here to become less frequent. My original plan was to move on to In Defense of Food, and I’d still like to do that. However, for the next few months, I won’t have enough time to post daily or even a few times a week. I might just go through In Defense of Food slowly, or I might postpone it until I’m less busy. Whatever I decide, I do plan on keeping up with anything new that might happen.

If you want to continue following this blog, you might find it helpful to subscribe to the RSS feed or the email list on the right side of the page. For those who aren’t familiar with RSS feeds, they’re a great way to keep on top of news from multiple sources. I follow a few dozen RSS feeds in Google Reader, and it’s much more convenient than visiting all of the sites individually. I also signed up for Twitter (@AdamMerberg) this afternoon, and if you want to follow me there, I’ll do my best to keep you updated on my new blog posts (provided that I can figure out how to say anything in 140 characters).

I’ve taken a rather unorthodox approach with this blog. So far, I haven’t put much effort into getting people to read it, but I’ve put a lot of time into writing and researching it. The reason for this was that I always envisioned my review of The Omnivore’s Dilemma being the most useful thing I’d write here. Many of my other posts are too specific to be of very wide interest, but they help to support the broader points in the review for those who want that kind of detail. Since The Omnivore’s Dilemma came out four years ago, I decided there was no reason I needed people to be reading the posts as soon as I wrote them.

Now that I’ve posted my review, I plan to put a bit more work into building a readership. I have a few strategies in mind, but I’m interested in hearing suggestions (either by email or in the comments or, I suppose, on Twitter if they’re short enough) from anybody who has them.

Finally, I want to thank everyone who has been reading this blog for doing so. I’d especially like to thank those of you who have commented or emailed me to offer support, criticism, and useful information, as well as those of you who have helped to disseminate my posts through social media, blogs, and other channels. It’s been an incredible privilege to have your attention.

Leave a Reply

